superman.nuMary Immaculate of Lourdes NewtonHolliston School Committeefacebook    
  •   forum   •   COUNTDOWN TO MIRACLE MONDAY: "THE ALTERNATIVES!" •   fortress   •  
Superman Through the Ages! Forum
News: Superman Through the Ages! now located at theAges.superman.nu

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 03, 2024, 10:53:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question  (Read 9530 times)
chin85
Superman Fan

« on: March 18, 2005, 11:33:56 AM »

Hi, I was wondering if somebody could help me. I'm new to superman comics and I am trying to read as much of the early stuff as I can. I've bought the Superman Archives Volume 1, Superman in the 50's, 60's and 70's aswell as Greatest Superman Stories Ever Told. Are there any other books available which contain pre crisis stories? Thanks.
Super Monkey
Super
League of Supermen

« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2005, 12:32:49 PM »

Welcome to the site!

Here are some of my favorites:

Superman : The Sunday Classics : Strips 1-183, (1939-1943)

This is the golden age Superman at his most fun outside of the Cartoons. The artwork looks better than the comics of that time.

Superman: Man of Tomorrow Archives: Volume 1

Vol.1 of the Sliver Age Superman Archives! A must have!

Superman From the 30S to the 80S

This is an old classic book, mostly B&W reprints, you can get it cheap on Amazon.

Jimmy Olsen - Volume 1 : Adventures by Jack Kirby
Jimmy Olsen : Adventures by Jack Kirby - Volume 2 (Jimmy Olsen)

These two volumes collects Jack :King" Kirby's run on Jimmy Olsen in which he really cut loose!

Superman: Tales of the Bizarro World by Jerry Siegel

If you love the Bizarros and can't get enough of them, then you will want to get this.

Superman vs. The Flash

All the classic Superman/Flash Races in one handy TPB! This hasn't been release just yet as far as I know.

The Marvel/DC Collection - Crossover Classics, Vol. 1